Wednesday, July 6, 2011

Summer Selections

I thought it would be fun for some of us at Color Online to list a few recommendations for the summer. Ari's Summer Selections went up last week.

I cheated a little and didn't show covers so I could fit more titles. I also included some paperbacks since not everyone likes to travel with hardcovers.

When I go on vacation I always take one mystery, one book that will have me laughing so much it hurts and one novel that's tad on the serious side.

Black Water Rising by Attica Locke - This is perfect for fans of Lehane or Pelecanos. Or anyone that's ever lived in Houston. (paperback)

The Long Fall by Walter Mosley - The Long Fall is the first book, introducing Leonid Mcgill one of the best new mystery sleuths out. (paperback)

32 Candles by Ernessa T Carter - This story is ridiculously good and very funny. (paperback)

Waking Up in the Land of Glitter by Kathy Cano-Murillo - This is must for anyone who loves to craft or enjoys watching crafty show. Or just loves to laugh a lot. (paperback)

Pym by Mat Johnson - This is so freakin good. A must for fans of satires - One of my favorites of the year.

Girl in Translation by Jean Kwok -Once you start reading this you won't be able to stop. So if its the only book you have in your carry on and the plane is delayed, your good to go. (paperback)

If Son Then Heirs by Lorene Cary - I loved losing myself in this story. The writing was pure beauty.

Please Look After Mom by Kyung-Sook Shin - Gorgeous. This is one of the few times I've read a translated novel and didn't feel like part of the story was lost in translation. One of my favorites of the year.

Silver Sparrow by Tayari Jones - Amazing, this story came together so well. Another favorite of the year.

7 comments:

Karen L. Simpson said...

I'm reading Pym now and loving it!! Some part are just laugh out loud funny.

Helen's Book Blog said...

Great choices! I liked Black Water Rising, loved Girl in Translation, and will read 32 Candles when I get back from vacation!

Amy said...

I definitely love seeing Tayari Jones on this book :) And am happy to report that 32 Candles has finally shown up in my mailbox! I hope it as good of a summer read as it seems like it will be :)

Erika Kimberly said...

Silver Sparrow is on my list too! I read the preview and it got me hooked!

Terri said...

can't wait to read Pym and Silver Sparrow. i'm reading 32 candles right now and love it.

if Sons Then Heirs is also on my radar.

Terri said...

oh yes, Girl in Translation is so amazing.

Jean said...

Color Online (and Doret), thank you so much for listing my book as one of your summer selections! I appreciate it very much - and also much thanks to the readers who also said they liked it here, you've made my day! I've posted this on my Facebook fan page here:

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Jean-Kwok/213583280524

All my best,
Jean